Jen's Kitchen Blog

Learning to cook the food I like to eat…

Maxine’s Salad

Posted by jenskitchen on November 25, 2011

When I was growing up, there were various get-togethers each year that I always looked forward to… Mostly I looked forward to these events because of the food. A friend of the family, Maxine, always brought this salad to church potlucks. My mom got the recipe from her and it became a regular summer salad at our house. I’ve re-purposed the salad for Thanksgiving because I wanted a corn dish on the table. And, well… it’s just a good salad. After doing an internet search, I find that this salad is called shoepeg corn salad, and while I saw some similar recipes, I didn’t see the recipe the way Maxine made it. So, here’s Maxine’s salad:

In a large serving bowl, combine all ingredients:

1 C chopped celery

1 C chopped green onion

1 can Le Seur green peas

2 cans white shoepeg corn

1 4-oz jar pimientos

1/2 C sugar

1/2 C vinegar (I’ve used both red and white… both are equally good)

1/4 C oil (My favorite oil to use here is olive, but I’ve used others successfully)

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

Toss all ingredients together and refrigerate until ready to serve.

One Response to “Maxine’s Salad”

  1. […] (RSS) « Charcutepalooza – The Salt Solution Maxine’s Salad […]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

