Jen's Kitchen Blog

Learning to cook the food I like to eat…

Roasted Ratatouille

Posted by jenskitchen on May 15, 2009

 

I promise I’m getting things figured out. In a month I’m sure I’ll be regularly posting things. In the mean time, I had a beautiful post written about going to the local co-op and picking up some gorgeous fruits and veggies. Those veggies inspired an impromptu Roasted Ratatouille. I had beautiful pictures of both the bounty of food I received as well as my gorgeous veggie side dish.

I was getting ready to show some co-workers my food pictures, when my camera told me that my battery was exhausted. So… I came home and charged the battery. Today I went to plug my camera into the computer and realized that one of my sous chefs (haven’t figured out which one yet) has moved the cord that goes from the camera to the computer. I still figure I’ll find the cord, but  in the meantime I went to look at my pictures and think about which ones to display. I put the battery back in the camera. My camera tells me the battery is exhausted. Hmmm… Not sure if this means I need a whole new battery or if someone decided to unplug my charger. So… I’m charging the battery again.

Really… I’ll figure this out. In the meantime, know that I am working on a variety of gluten-free, mostly low-carb dishes to share with you all (pictures and all, I hope) plus – the results of my first Daring Baker’s and Daring Cook’s Challenges.

Oh… and when I can get now that I have the pictures on to my computer, I know you’ll want to make this Roasted Ratatouille:

Roasted Ratatouille

Roasted Ratatouille

  • 1 eggplant
  • 2 zucchini
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 onion
  • olive oil – as needed
  • salt – to taste
  • sprigs of Rosemary for garnish

Cut the veggies into bite size pieces and place into a baking dish. Toss the veggies with olive oil to coat. Sprinkle salt over veggies and give one more toss. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until veggies soften. (Your kitchen will smell really, really good at this point.) Take the dish out of the oven and garnish with Rosemary. Tent with foil and allow to cool slightly. Before serving, give one final toss.

This was great as a warm side veggie side dish – and equally as good cold the next day. Enjoy!

9 Responses to “Roasted Ratatouille”

  1. whyguy said

    Hey Jen, I only have one problem with this recipe. I hate eggplant. Yuk!!! I had a bad experience with it once and ever since just the thought of it makes me gag. I’m sure you recipe is great though, I just won’t be trying it any time soon.

    I’m looking forward to those recipes yet to come.

    Terry (whyguy)

    P.S. Did you figure out how to add subscribers yet. Also, did you say you were having a problem subscribing to my blog?

    • jenskitchen said

      Well, you could make it without the eggplant, I’m sure!

      I’m hoping to have a new camera battery tomorrow (and find the cord that goes from the camera to the computer, sigh…)

      Jen

  2. shayne said

    oh gosh your living my life. LOL welcome to the food blog world and the the Daring Kitchen

  3. Esiole said

    Hi Jen,
    I made your ratatouille recipe this week and I LOVED it! The kitchen did smell great while it was cooking too just as you promised. I shared it with my husband, and son and daughter in law, who were visiting and it was a definite favourite with the girls while the guys were more of Terry’s opinion and picked away at the stuff they liked like the zucchini. I added some red and yellow peppers to the mix and took out the onions which don’t really agree with me and ate the remainder for lunch the next day. To tell you the truth I was lucky to have some left! I’m looking forward to trying more of your recipes.
    Esiole 🙂

  4. […] Jen’s Kitchen Blog Just another WordPress.com weblog « Roasted Ratatouille […]

  5. What a gorgeous dish! My husband loves eggplant and I’m learning. 😉

    Shirley

    • jenskitchen said

      Thanks! Before choosing to eat low-carb and then learning to eat gluten-free I don’t think I had ever eaten eggplant. I’m in love!

      Jen

Leave a Reply

 
