Jen's Kitchen Blog

Learning to cook the food I like to eat…

Chicken with Tomatillo Sauce

Posted by jenskitchen on May 30, 2009

When I first started getting my co-op produce baskets, I often encountered fruits and veggies I had never had before. The first time I got about a pound of tomatillos, I have to admit, I was stumped. I went to the Atkins Forum and asked around: What do you do with tomatillos? I got all sorts of great ideas, most of which I have yet to try… Why? Because one idea made me drool. The forum moderator described a chicken dish he made with canned tomatillos – spiced up into a sauce, poured over chicken, topped with cheese and baked. Because I don’t eat much canned food and I had a pound of tomatillos staring at me from my kitchen counter, I decided to make up my own tomatillo sauce so that I could try the chicken dish he described. Since I got tomatillos in my co-op basket again today, it seemed like a good time to share it with you. Here’s what I came up with:

Tomatillo Sauce

  • 1 pound tomatillos – husked and rinsed
  • 1 white onion – chopped into quarters
  • 2-3 jalapeno peppers (you could use 1 if you don’t want too much spice)
  • 4-5 cloves of garlic (okay, I used six, I like garlic)
  • cilantro, to taste
  • lime juice
  • olive oil
  • salt

Arrange the vegetables in a baking dish and toss them with oil. Sprinkle with salt and give the veggies another good toss. Top with a good handful of cilantro and roast the veggies in the oven at 350 F until the veggies are softened, fragrant, and have some color. Tent the roasted veggies with foil and let them cool on the counter.

When cooled, put the veggies into a food processor or blender and process to a thick sauce.

Chicken with Tomatillo Sauce

Salt and pepper the chicken then brown the chicken in butter so that both sides have good color – a few minutes per side. The chicken does not have to be cooked all the way through as it will spend some time in the oven. Arrange the chicken pieces in a baking dish and top with tomatillo sauce and shredded cheese. Bake the chicken at 350 until the cheese is well melted, then broil to get a nice browning to the cheese. About 20 to 30 minutes total.

This is a great meal served with a salad. I usually make my own dressing from mayo, lemon juice, avocado and a Tablespoon or two of the tomatillo sauce.

4 Responses to “Chicken with Tomatillo Sauce”

  1. That dish looks delicious, Jen! Like your homemade salad dressing, too–yum. Just love all your photos!

    Shirley

  2. arthur said

    I too embrace the Atkins lifestyle, your recipes are a lovely addition to my eating choices.
    Thank you for all the hard work
    Barbara

    • jenskitchen said

      Thanks for stopping by Barbara! Atkins is such a healthy lifestyle… enjoy the recipes. More to come.

      Jen

Leave a Reply

 
