Jen's Kitchen Blog

Learning to cook the food I like to eat…

Atkins Friendly Lettuce Wraps

Posted by jenskitchen on June 12, 2009

Bonnie in the Atkins forums has done it again with an interesting recipe challenge. Here was the request for recipes:

Atkins Recipe Challenge: Crock Pot/Slow Cooker

CALLING ALL ATKINS FOODIES – THIS THREAD IS FOR YOU!!! So I’ve been hearing more and more from my friends (and I agree) that with the start of summer it seems harder and harder to get dinner together – playdates, activities, less structured schedules, etc. So with that in mind, I thought we’d try an old favorite cooking method – one that lets us do the work in the morning (or night before) and reap the benefits at dinner-timer AND not heat up the house! With that in mind, this week’s theme features an appliance: CROCK POT (aka: SLOW COOKER)! So dig out your crock pot and dust it off (if it’s anything like mine) – pull out those old favorite recipes or create something new – and let’s attempt to make our lives a bit easier!

I admit, I don’t often pull out my crock pot except for March 17th (Corned Beef and Cabbage)! I’m not sure why and I’ve definitely been thinking that I should. After finding Stephanie’s site A Year of Slow Cooking, I realized that I was definitely under-using this handy kitchen appliance. So, when Bonnie chose this as this week’s recipe challenge, I realized it was time to start thinking of ways I could make use of my slow cooker to make my life just a bit easier this summer.

Chicken Filling for Lettuce Wraps

  • 8 Chicken thighs – ground
  • 1 bunch green onions
  • 1 can water chestnuts
  • bean sprouts
  • soy sauce
  • peanut butter
  • hot sauce
  • grated ginger
  • sesame oil

Next time I make this, I will either use less chicken or use quite a bit more veggies (I love veggies), so feel free to increase the veggies used in this.

I chopped the veggies and put them in the bottom of the crock-pot. I added soy sauce, sesame oil, hot sauce, and about 4 Tablespoons of peanut butter and stirred everything to combine.  Then I added the grated ginger. At this point I recommend tasting – and adjusting seasonings to taste. Once the raw chicken gets added, you won’t want to taste it for a while – so make sure the seasonings are bold now : )

Using my food processor, I ground the chicken thighs (maybe a bit too much : ) and added the ground chicken to the crock pot. I stirred everything together, then put the lid on and walked away…

DSCN0900

About the time the older sous chef started saying, “what smells so good?”, it was time to make a quick peanut dipping sauce and pull some lettuce leaves off a head of icerberg to make the lettuce wraps. This was very tasty and easy.

2 Responses to “Atkins Friendly Lettuce Wraps”

  1. tam said

    these are the best!! – everyone loves them – kids and adults alike!!! – thanks Jen!! – tam

Leave a Reply

 
