Jen's Kitchen Blog

Learning to cook the food I like to eat…

Birthday Cake

Posted by jenskitchen on June 12, 2009

Don't bother counting candles - I didn't have enough.

Don't bother counting candles - I didn't have enough.

For my birthday I made Red Velvet Cake. This was a definite adventure as I’d never made Velvet cake before – and making it gluten free made it even more interesting. The older sous chef said it was “amazing”.

Very pretty red!

Very pretty red!

This was my second experiment with using the Better Batter gluten-free four mix in an otherwise gluten-filled recipe. So far, I’ve been pretty impressed with the Better Batter flour mix. (I’ll be posting about the first experiment on Sunday, June 14th – I know, it seems a bit backward as my birthday is on Sunday and I’m posting the second experiment first, but… there’s a reason for this, so stay tuned…)

[06/15 Edit]: I took the rest of the cake to work to get the opinion of gluten-eaters. The cake was down to the last piece before I mentioned that there was no wheat in the cake. (I didn’t want a cake that was good for being gluten-free – I wanted a good cake.) The overwhelming response is that this was a good cake.

5 Responses to “Birthday Cake”

  1. Renee11 said

    Jen, that is a most beautiful cake and now my mouth is watering!

    … lol on the not bothering counting candles… lil’ sista, you’re but so very young.

    now I just need the recipe and you in my kitchen to make sure it turns out like the picture :))

    Happy Belated Birthday!!

    Renee

    • jenskitchen said

      Thank you! We’ll def have to get together soon and cook something up in the kitchen together – you name it…

      Jen

  2. whyguy said

    Jen, the cake looks great, and so does your website. It seems you have been busy. Keep up the good work.

  3. whyguy said

    Hey Jen, my birthday is August 12th, I’d like a good brownie recipe, but if I can’t find anything simple enough I’m going with your cake. Thanks Again Jen.

Leave a Reply

 
