Jen's Kitchen Blog

Learning to cook the food I like to eat…

Creamy Cucumber Salad

Posted by jenskitchen on June 17, 2009

I had so many cucumbers after getting my fruits and veggies through the co-op. Cucumbers are not one of my favorite fruits, but I have a rule about trying foods I think I don’t like in at least 3 different preparations. After doing this, I realized that I did like more food than I thought I did – it just has to be made correctly.

The same goes for cucumbers. I mean, I like pickles, so there had to be other ways to eat cucumbers (chopping them into a salad is NOT a preparation I like). Sticking with the flavors that are in pickles – onions, garlic, and dill – I made up a creamy cucumber salad. I’d seen recipes that used yogurt, mayonnaise, sour cream, or some combination of the three. I decided to go with a yogurt/sour cream base and added plenty of fresh dill and several cloves of garlic (could have used more).  To prepare the cucumbers, I peeled and sliced 6 of them and put them in a bowl. Then I peeled a red onion, sliced it and threw it in the bowl with the cucumbers. I added a Tablespoon of salt (next time I might use just a bit more) and tossed the veggies around.

DSCN0934

I used ziploc baggies filled with water to weight the mixture down. (The cucumbers and onions were sitting in a colander over a bowl).

DSCN0935

The bowl went in the fridge and sat there for 3 hours at which time I had a lot of water that had drained out of the cucumbers. Without rinsing the salt off the cucumbers and onions, I put them in a serving bowl and tossed with the yogurt/sour cream/dill/garlic mix.

DSCN0936

I let the salad sit in the fridge another hour or so and then I tried a serving.

So, now I have another way I like cucumbers besides pickles. And, I still have quite a few cucumbers left. I’ll let you know what I do with them…

4 Responses to “Creamy Cucumber Salad”

  1. I’m the opposite of you, Jen. I like cucumbers, but not pickles. 😉 This looks great! 🙂

    Shirley

  2. whyguy said

    How many net carbs in this Jen?

    • jenskitchen said

      Sorry I didn’t include that info… I’ll be going back to put the nutrition info as soon as I can… Of course, in the mean time, you could always enter all the ingredients at http://www.nutritiondata.com to get per serving nutrition info (like net carbs). I’ll let you know when I get my recipes updated with the info!

      Jen

Leave a Reply

 
