Jen's Kitchen Blog

Learning to cook the food I like to eat…

Daring Bakers – Bakewell Tart…er…Pudding

Posted by jenskitchen on June 27, 2009

The June Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Jasmine of Confessions of a Cardamom Addict and Annemarie of Ambrosia and Nectar. They chose a Traditional (UK) Bakewell Tart… er… pudding that was inspired by a rich baking history dating back to the 1800’s in England.

Apparently, there’s some debate over whether this dessert is a tart or a pudding. And who am I to put an end to the controversy. I’m just here to show off what I’ve learned this month!

Okay… I had never heard of a Bakewell Tart…er…Pudding – but that certainly wasn’t going to stop me! I did sign up to be daring in the kitchen after all. And if you haven’t signed up yet, well… why not? Each month I definitely learn new skills in the kitchen. So if you haven’t signed up yet and would like to head on over to The Daring Kitchen.

Actually, I’ve never made a tart. The Bakewell Tart…er…Pudding has three elements and I’ve never even made one of the three elements before. The three elements are a pastry crust, a jam or curd, and a frangipane. This was going to be a learning experience. (I had to look up what frangipane is…)

You can read the original challenge here. As for what I did, read on…

Bakewell Tart…er…pudding
Makes one 23cm (9” tart)
Prep time: less than 10 minutes (plus time for the individual elements)
Resting time: 15 minutes
Baking time: 30 minutes
Equipment needed: 23cm (9”) tart pan or pie tin (preferably with ridged edges), rolling pin

One quantity sweet shortcrust pastry (recipe follows)
Bench flour
1 Cup Cherry Jam & 1 Cup Apricot Jam
One quantity frangipane (recipe follows)

Sweet shortcrust pastry
Prep time: 15-20 minutes
Resting time: 30 minutes (minimum)
Equipment needed: bowls, box grater, cling film

225g (8oz) all purpose gluten-free flour (I used Better Batter)
30g (1oz) sugar
2.5ml (½ tsp) salt
110g (4oz) unsalted butter, cold (frozen is better)
2 (2) egg yolks
2.5ml (½ tsp) almond extract (optional)
15-30ml (1-2 Tbsp) cold water

Sift together flour, sugar and salt. Grate butter into the flour mixture, using the large hole-side of a box grater. Using your finger tips only, and working very quickly, rub the fat into the flour until the mixture resembles bread crumbs. Set aside.

Lightly beat the egg yolks with the almond extract (if using) and quickly mix into the flour mixture. Keep mixing while dribbling in the water, only adding enough to form a cohesive and slightly sticky dough. Form the dough into a disc, wrap in cling and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes

Frangipane
Prep time: 10-15 minutes
Equipment needed: bowls, hand mixer, rubber spatula

125g (4.5oz) unsalted butter, softened
125g (4.5oz) icing sugar
3 (3) eggs
2.5ml (½ tsp) almond extract
125g (4.5oz) ground almonds
30g (1oz) all purpose gluten-free flour (I used Better Batter)

Cream butter and sugar together for about a minute or until the mixture is light yellow in color and very fluffy. Scrape down the side of the bowl and add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. The batter may appear to curdle. In the words of Douglas Adams: Don’t panic. Really. It’ll be fine. After all three are in, pour in the almond extract and mix for about another 30 seconds and scrape down the sides again. With the beaters on, spoon in the ground nuts and the flour. Mix well. The mixture will be soft, keep its slightly curdled look (mostly from the almonds) and retain its pallid yellow color.

Apricot Jam
Prep time: 10-15 minutes
Equipment needed: knife

20 or so Apricots
stevia

Peel the apricots and remove the pits. Cut apricots into thin slices and put them in a saute pan. Sweeten to taste with preferred sweetener. I used Stevia. Stirring gently, allow the apricots to cook down into a sauce. Let the apricot “jam” cool to room temperature before using.

Cherry Jam
Prep time: forever
Equipment needed: cherry pitter, knife, patience

I used this recipe for Cherry Jam. It was really, really, good! In fact, even with as long as it took to pit cherries (I think it took longer because the two year old sous chef kept trying to eat the cherries as I pit them – he was doing quality control, I assume…)  I would still make this recipe again! I’ll just wait until nap time to do it : )

Assembling the tart
The fun thing about gluten-free dough is that you really don’t have to let your dough rest – there’s no gluten to get overworked. In some ways, I’m really starting to appreciate this challenge of making things gluten-free. And there are even times when I think the gluten-free version is better. This tart crust was good. Really good. Makes me want to make another tart. Once I rolled out the tart crust and got it in the tart pan, I placed it in the freezer while I got everything else together.

Preheat oven to 200C/400F.

After I had the frangipane & jams done, I took my tart crust out of the freezer. First I spread the cherry jam over the bottom of the crust. Then I decided it wasn’t enough jam (maybe the Sous Chef had eaten a few too many cherries) so I used the Apricot Jam as well. It looked like this:

DSCN0940

The frangipane is spread on top of the fruit filling. The assembled tart looks like this:

DSCN0942

This gets baked for 30 minutes according to the recipe directions. Which is actually about 5 minutes longer than my tart needed, so the frangipane got a little darker than I would have liked.

DSCN0944

All in all, this was a great experience. I learned to make a tart crust (gluten-free even), I made jams for the first time ever, and I learned what frangipane was – and made it : )

I have to admit that my first taste of the tart didn’t quite live up to my expectations. I think I would have liked more jam layer, though apparently that’s not traditional. Still, the next time I make this, my Bakewell Tart…er…Pudding will have a thicker jam layer.

All in all I enjoyed the Bakewell Tart…er…Pudding. I would have even had a second slice… except for the fact that the older sous chef ate what was left. Hmm… I guess I’ll have to make another one.

DSCN0947

I had actually hoped to get a better picture of a slice of the Tart…er…Pudding. But, before I had the chance, the Tart…er…Pudding was gone.

18 Responses to “Daring Bakers – Bakewell Tart…er…Pudding”

  1. I agree that more jam is better! You have a beautiful tart…er…pudding.

  2. Sweet Pea said

    Great job, I had never heard of it either, love the combination of jams, I bet it was yummy.

    • jenskitchen said

      Thanks. I had really only planned on using the cherry – but the apricot really worked well with the cherry and almond flavors. It was quite yummy.

  3. Lauren said

    Your tart/pudding looks amazing!! I love the combination of apricot and cherry jams =D. Beautiful job on this challenge!

    • jenskitchen said

      Thanks. I admit, I’ve never mixed apricot and cherry together – will have to do so more often…

  4. Apricot and cherry is a great flavor combo, and it looks amazing! I would love to try that! Gorgeous tart – well done all around!

  5. Dragon said

    Cherry and apriocot jams, Yum!! Great job on this month’s challenge.

  6. Looks wonderful! The cherry and apricot combination sounds delicious!

  7. AmyJ said

    I’m getting hungry! Great job!

  8. asti said

    The contrast of the two jam looks beautiful. Bet it tasted as good as it looks.

  9. bakingobsession said

    The tart looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

 
