Jen's Kitchen Blog

Learning to cook the food I like to eat…

Daring Bakers: Doughnuts

Posted by jenskitchen on October 28, 2010

image

The October 2010 Daring Bakers challenge was hosted by Lori of Butter Me Up. Lori chose to challenge DBers to make doughnuts. She used several sources for her recipes including Alton Brown, Nancy Silverton, Kate Neumann and Epicurious.

As much as the provided recipes certainly had me interested, I have to admit now that I didn’t use any of them. You can check out the full challenge information here.

Unfortunately, due to a series of strange and somewhat irritating (at times) events, I haven’t been able to post anything here lately. Yes, I know that’s an understatement, but I’ll explain more later. This post… well, it’s about doughnuts.

Lately I’ve been on a convert all my favorite family recipes to gluten-free kick. And, about a week before I finally decided I was ready to call myself a Daring Baker again, I decided that my next challenge from my Mom’s recipe box would be her doughnuts. She made these doughnuts every Halloween and as soon as my calendar said it was October, I started thinking about those little puffs of deliciousness that my Mom made once a year. So, I see it as kind of a sign that the Daring Baker’s challenge for this month was Doughnuts. Rather than use one of the given recipes, I combined the two challenges and converted my Mom’s recipe to Gluten-Free. And, oh my… I am so glad I did.

Gluten-Free Halloween Doughnuts

  • 1 beaten egg (I used farm fresh)
  • 1/2 Cups Applesauce (I used homemade)
  • 1/2 Cups Milk (I used Strauss Creamery Whole Milk)
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons Melted Butter (Again, I used Strauss Creamery – unsalted)

Beat the first 4 ingredients together until well mixed. My applesauce was a little chunky (thanks to a food processor that suddenly decided it didn’t want to work anymore… turns out this was a good thing in the doughnuts.)

To the above, add:

  • 2 Cups Flour (I used Better Batter Gluten-Free Flour – a little less than 2 Cups, though).
  • 1/2 Cup Agave Nectar
  • 2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Sea Salt (fine)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Mix well and place in the fridge until chilled and ready to fry. The dough will be a bit wet – not quite able to make formed doughnuts… think drop biscuits, but drop doughnuts 🙂

Heat the oil to 360 degrees.

Drop by Tablespoons into the oil and fry until golden brown. Remove from oil carefully (use a slotted spoon).

The original recipe calls for rolling these in granulated sugar. I actually didn’t have any sugar in my house (big surprise), but I did have a bit of left over powdered sugar from when I made my son’s birthday cake in July, so… I rolled in a bit of powdered sugar.

These doughnuts were pretty darn awesome. The flavor I remember from my childhood gone gluten-free.

I have more pictures to share of the doughnuts and doughnut making process which I’ll share as soon as I can figure out how to get them from my phone to this post 🙂

2 Responses to “Daring Bakers: Doughnuts”

  1. They looks so tasty and delicious well done on this challenge. The colour on them is great. Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

  2. buttoni said

    Those look great, Jen. Wish I could have them. Hows the teaching going? I KNOW you’re busy now. I could never seem to catach my breath and find time for the kitchen when I was teaching. Hope you’re still excited and enjoying it as much as you hoped.

Leave a Reply

 
