Jen's Kitchen Blog

Learning to cook the food I like to eat…

Sweet Potato Soufle

Posted by jenskitchen on November 22, 2010

My mom had 2 different sweet potato recipes & would alternate which dish we had each Thanksgiving. Neither of them had the classic marshmallow topping… in fact, I don’t know that I’ve ever had the classic version. Both were good… but honestly, sweet potatoes were not my favorite Thanksgiving side.

Several years ago, my mom made a third sweet potato dish. I fell in love & it has been on my Thanksgiving table ever since. Finally, I had a sweet potato dish that I could look forward to each year… and it still didn’t have the marshmallows. I really am not a fan of marshmallows since I’ve given up processed food and refined sugars. Last year, I stopped using canned food as much as possible, so here’s my moms recipe with my gluten-free, can-free twist…

1 1/2 lbs sweet potatoes, cooked & mashed (I like to roast them, sometimes I steam them in a bit of cream & butter)
1 C sweetener (my preference is agave nectar… The original recipe calls for sugar)
1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs
1/3 stick butter
1/2 C milk
1 tsp vanilla

Mix all ingredients well & pour into a buttered baking dish. Mix together the following & crumble over the top of the souffle:
1 C brown sugar
1/2 C Better Batter flour
1/3 C melted butter
1 C pecans

Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes, uncovered.

Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Sweet Potato Soufle”

  1. Karen said

    What happened to low carb?

    • jenskitchen said

      i eat low carb, but i cook a variety of foods for my family or for daring bakers, etc…
      my focus has been on gluten free and learning new techniques. but i should put up some more lc soon.

  2. […] Sweet Potato Souffle (Recipe from my mom) […]

Leave a Reply

 
