Jen's Kitchen Blog

Learning to cook the food I like to eat…

Thanksgiving 2011 Menu Plan

Posted by jenskitchen on November 6, 2011

I can’t believe it is November again already.

I pulled out my Thanksgiving planner several weeks ago, but just had a chance to finalize my menu and make up my shopping list for this year. Usually I have this done before Halloween… but this has been a particularly busy year for me.

THANKSGIVING MENU

  • Roasted Heritage Turkey (from Chiracahua Pasture Raised Meats – Willcox, AZ – Recipe from Local Harvest) Update: I wasn’t able to get my turkey from Chiracahua (hopefully next year!!!) as my deposit got to them after the last turkey got claimed. This year’s Heritage Turkey will be a Mary’s from Whole Foods.
  • Gravy
  • Heirloom Chestnut Stuffing (Recipe from Better Batter)
  • Mashed Potatoes (Recipe from my mom)
  • Sweet Potato Souffle (Recipe from my mom)
  • ParkerHouse Rolls (Recipe from Better Batter)
  • Creamed Spinach
  • Green Bean Casserole
  • Blueberry Salad (Recipe from my mom)
  • Cranberry Sauce
  • Maxine’s Salad (Recipe from Maxine – a family friend)

And… as always, make sure to save room for pie!

  • Buttermilk Pie Filling (Recipe from my mom)
  • Pecan Pie Filling
  • Pumpkin Pie Filling
  • Gluten-Free Pie Crusts (Recipe from Better Batter) Update 11/24: The pie crust was very successful. Will definitely be using this for all my future pies! It had a nice tender texture that I was told just could not be achieved from a gluten-free crust.

This is pretty much the same menu plan I had from last year. Hopefully, there will be fewer mishaps this year. And, maybe I’ll even be able to laugh about last year’s mishaps.

For now, here is my Shopping Plan:

Farmer’s Market Items:

  • 2 dozen eggs
  • 2 pie pumpkins
  • 2 lbs green beans
  • 8 ounces shitake mushrooms
  • 8 ounces mushrooms
  • 1 head garlic
  • 4 onions
  • 2 medium leeks
  • 2 lbs spinach
  • 2 carrots
  • 1 bunch celery
  • 2 bunches green onion
  • 2 1/2 lbs sweet potatoes
  • 5 lbs potatoes
  • 1 1/2 lbs chestnuts
  • 1/2 lb pecans
  • apple
  • orange
  • 1 lb blueberries
  • 12 ounces cranberries
  • sage, thyme, rosemary, bay leaf

Any items that are not available at the Farmer’s Market will be picked up at the grocery store. Last year I was able to find all of these at the market except for the blueberries, chestnuts, and mushrooms. My favorite farmer at the market tends to be McClendon Farms.

Leave a Reply

 
